My goal for this week

Workout:  4 slow & easy miles with the husband in the snow

As a result of a couple injuries since my last marathon, my training has had more of a ‘do what I can to survive’ mentality.  I haven’t been able to run the distances I’ve been craving to run and have had to take more rest days than I’d like to count, sometimes resulting in running only two(!) days a week.

Last night I told myself that I would run five days this week.  Do or die, I have to do this.  My muscles and my sanity need it.  Oh how I crave a 12+ mile run.  Cross-training is extremely beneficial to prevent injury, strengthen the muscles running often neglects, and act as an ‘active rest’ day, but it’s not quite the same endorphin-high as putting in a long run or tempo run.  If you want something bad enough, you’ll find the time to do it.  So that’s my goal for this week, to want it bad enough that I make the time to do it, even if it means some intense cross-training.

Leave a Reply

